Writers and Procrastinating

As a writer, I’ve realised it’s about time I started talking about my writer’s craft on this blog. There may not be a lot to talk about, considering I’m just over halfway through my degree. However, considering I’ve wanted to be a writer since I was about 8 years old, I’m going to say “screw it” and talk anyway. Besides, when I was 8 years old, my stories involved siblings travelling to the snow and killing dragons with weapons that magically appear out of nowhere. But, back on topic…

Meet Daniel and Jezebel. They hunt dragons in their spare time.

Procrastination is the number one enemy of all writers. If you don’t believe me, maybe you’re far too organised and this writing stuff isn’t for you. No, I’m joking! But I’m assuming that a lot of writers like to procrastinate, mainly because all the writers (including myself) that I know are always finding ways not to write. This isn’t because they don’t enjoy it, though.

I’d like to blame the internet as a whole for helping writers procrastinate. But I don’t think that’s fair. What about those times when we don’t want to write because we’ve had a lot going on (like me having 5 assignments to complete this week), or we’re too tired? These are the times when 9Gag and lolcats have their greatest appeal.

I only have to warn procrastinators that looking at too many cats on YouTube can never be a good thing, especially when you have a writing deadline, a list of journals to submit to or 5 assignments to complete.

So how do you curb your procrastination?

Nokia 3200: Greatest phone ever

The obvious solution would be to cancel your internet, replace your phone with a Nokia 3200 and return to writing with pen and paper. However, if you’re a true procrastinator, this won’t work. Look around the room you’re in right now. If you didn’t have your cat pictures to waste away the hours, what is there to also distract you?

  • A pile of books that are on your “I will read them one day” list
  • Leftover food from last night or three months ago
  • A clock that shows how much time you waste not writing

I’m probably completely off the ball, and you’re probably reading this on a jumping pillow, but that’s not the point.

Jumping Pillow

Half jumping castle, half trampoline. These things are actually really fun.

Now that you realise there are things around you that aren’t memes or your friends Facebook statuses, you might realise how much time you’ve been wasting. You might even have gotten some writing inspiration from this.

If it doesn’t work and you’re still procrastinating, I give up. Just Google it. That’s what I do.

Oh wait, I still procrastinate…

2 Comments

Filed under Writing

2 responses to “Writers and Procrastinating

  1. Pingback: [Title Undecided. Current Title Needs To Be Edited] | Gut Instinct

  2. Pingback: Yet Another Blog Post on Writer’s Block | Gut Instinct

Leave a Reply

